Résolu

Bank Blocked Without Reason, Explanation Letter Never Came (4 weeks waiting)

Hi.

My bank account and all of my funds have been blocked by BNP Paribas for 4 weeks now without notification, reason or explanation by the branch at BNP Paribas Auderghem in Brussels. I made an appointment and went into the branch of course and they told me they had no access to any information, just that my account was suddenly blocked and would be closed and I would have to move to another bank. No explanation. “You have to wait for the letter”. I was shocked, I looked online for reasons they can block an account being if they suspect tax evasion or criminal activity, laundering ,etc. I am just a graduate student from the US in Belgium. There is no reason to suspect any of this and there was no attempt by the bank to contact me to ask about any transfers if they had concern or suspicion. I receive a scholarship (from the Belgian government) and otherwise reimbursements from the company I do an internship for expenses I make while working. This has never been a problem in the past.